Norwegian gastro-surgeons have been together for many years with gastroenterologists in the Norwegian Gastroenterological Society. As both specialties evolved, there was a need for a separate professional medical association that took care of the gastro-surgeons’ interests.

In May 2006, the Norwegian Association for Gastroenterological Surgery was approved by the National Board of the Medical Association with effect from 1 January 2007. The articles of association were adopted at the annual meeting on 26 October 2006.

The association’s first board was led by Morten Tandberg Eriksen and consisted of the following members:
Øivind Irtun, Marit Helene Hansen, Gerd Tranø, Erik Carlsen, Arne Christian Mohn, Hartwig Körner and Tom Harald Edna